Monday, April 20, 2015

Composer Nigel Clarke

4/20/2015 at 11:00 am
CAPA, Room 219
Natchitoches, Louisiana

It was a great honor to meet English composer Nigel Clarke, and perform his wonderful composition, Spectroscope for Solo Cello (1987).  Many thanks for Dr. Clarke for making the time to meet with me, and to Dr. Jeff Matthews for arranging his residency here at NSULA.

Solo and Ensemble Festival Judging

4/18/2015 at 8:00 am
Brame Middle School
Dr. John DeChiaro, String Director
Alexandria, Louisiana

Meeting at Cracker Barrel for breakfast before judging Dr. John DeChiaro's string students at Solo and Ensemble Festival.

Monday, April 13, 2015

Recruiting at West Monroe High School

4/13/2015 at 11:00 and noon
West Monroe, Louisiana

I spoke to Mr. John Jowers' high school orchestra members about attending NSULA.

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Colin Horton's Junior Recital

4/15/2015 at 5:30 pm
Magale Recital Hall
Natchitoches, Louisiana


Suite No. 1 in G Major for Solo Cello . . . . J.S. Bach (1685-1750)

Minutes I and II

Concerto in G Major . . . . L. Boccherini (1743-1805)


Robyn Tan, piano

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Milovan Paz's Recital

4/14/2015 at 5:30 pm
Magale Recital Hall
Natchitoches, Louisiana


“Nana” from Suite Populaire Espagnole . . . . Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

“The Swan” from Carnival of the Animals . . . . Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921)

"Etude" from The High School of Cello Playing, Opus 73 . . . . David Popper (1843-1913)

No. 28  Andantino grazioso
No. 22  Andante grazioso

Suite VI in D major for cello solo, BWV 1012 . . . . J.S. Bach (1685-1750)

I. Prelude
II. Allemande
III. Courante
IV. Sarabande
V. Gavotten I and II
VI. Gigue

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

April 2, 2015, at 6:00 pm

Abendmusik Alexandria
Hearn Stage
Kress Theater
Downtown Alexandria, Louisiana

Program of Cello Duos by Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880)

Opus 49, No. 4 in G Major
Rondo: Allegretto

Opus 49, No. 3 in A Minor
Allegro moderato
Rondo: Allegretto

Opus 50, No. 1 in G Major

Opus 51, No. 3 in C Major
Allegro non troppo

Opus 21, No. 2 in F Major
Allegro maestoso
Rondo: Allegretto

Opus 50, No. 3 in A Minor
Allegro moderato
Tempo di minuetto

Paul Christopher and Milovan Paz, cellists

Tuesday, April 7, 2015 by Jackson Harmeyer
Last Thursday’s Jacques Offenbach, the Cellist was a major success and a great way to end the first season of Abendmusik Alexandria.  Cellists Paul Christopher and Milovan Paz presented an excellent recital, introducing many of us to music that is far too undervalued considering its memorable tunes and resourcefulness.  Because so many listeners have enjoyed the concerts and shown their support for Abendmusik this season, my colleagues and I at the Arts Council of Central Louisiana are already making plans for next season – expect more great chamber music when season two of Abendmusik Alexandria starts in September!